“Wrong number, ma’am!” Why you should double-check the “dialed number”.

Life is unpredictable. Nobody has ever written an autobiography upfront. There is just no way to predict what’s going to happen next. While sometimes somethings can happen for the worse, mostly life is kind enough to bring you great surprises… and yeah, sometimes things happen which just leave you laughing your guts off. 

My latest Monday morning started that way. I was awaken by the sound of my cellphone’s ringtone. I am never a big fan of my phone ringing, especially when I’m in sleep. I rarely get any calls though, my phone’s mostly silent, so when my phone rings early morning – my inner self screams, “No, please call an hour or two later.” But, they aren’t listening, so the phone keeps ringing. This time, It shouldn’t have rung for long too when I picked it up, and before I could’ve spoke out – a voice from the other end said, “Jaan, please kuch bolo na.”[Translation: Dear (or darling or honey or something similar), please say something..]

What!?” I said, a bit surprised and confused. I was completely awaken now, and after realizing what may have happened, I did well to not laugh as the initial response. There was a momentary silence followed by a sort of embarrassed (as I assume) “Oh!” 

Wrong number, ma’am!” I said, and the other phone disconnected within the split of a second. I had managed to not laugh when the call was active, but I found the incident extremely funny. It was a sweet voice, but very honestly it’s QUITE a mistake to get your “Jaan’s” (Google autocorrected it to Japan’s for once) number wrong. 

This is probably the most I’ve laughed to start a Monday morning. I was awaken by then, and my mom noticed that too. She said (or taunted), “Jaldi with gaya aaj.” [You woke up early today]. As obedient as I’m went back to sleep, and rose again a good 2 hours later. But, that phone call will be the subject of my laughter for some time to come. I hope she got Mr. Japan’s number right next time.

To make your day better, here’s a beautiful picture.

If you have a story tell or something to share about “missed calls”, do comment. Great day ahead. 

2 thoughts on ““Wrong number, ma’am!” Why you should double-check the “dialed number”.

Leave a Reply

