My Messed Up Social Media Timelines! 

This isn’t the best picture editing you’d see, but it shows how strict we’re relating to adult material on our blog.

Anyways, the picture above is a screenshot from my Google+ timeline, of course made useless to use for anyone else later. The post has been made to a Cricket community, and it certainly isn’t related to Cricket in any way of imagination. I am going to take you all through my Social Media timelines and then I have something to tell:

Twitter (@RahulSingh_I) – My Twitter timeline is most of the time filled with posts such as “Her body paint definitely doesn’t hide her n*ppl*s”, “The girl’s 70 inches … is getting Instagram crazy”, “Man catches wife with stranger…” and then all the “sexy girls” posts. In fact, months ago I took an entire day to go through all the profiles I was following, and unfollowed over 200 people making such posts. But, even now I sometimes skip going through profiles before following back people. So, the problem has resurfaced. I am not even considering going through all the profiles I follow this time, so the only option is to mute all those people – one at a time – and report the posts too. Add to that all those “hate” tweets, Internet trolls, and angry people. Twitter has the perfect recipe to spoil my Timeline. 
Thank God for Twitter lists, and some people who genuinely tweet great making me check my timeline, and of course some friends.

    Google+ – It isn’t too bad here – all the profiles I follow aren’t spam. The “sexy videos” posts reach my timeline through the communities I am a part of. I was a part of over 70 communities in May, I’ve reduced that to 5 now. But, then my G+ timeline is basically teens ranting about their problems, reposting Tumblr “teen” posts, roleplays, sex jokes, fangirlism/fanboyism, “how my life sucks”, “nobody cares about me”,“I am leaving”, “I love you forever, bae”, “f*ck” posts, and and people flirting to sum up. The thing is that Social Media is to express, and I don’t mind people using their freedom of expression simply because I do it to the extreme. But, then when I see many people copying the same posts, showing other people’s work as their own, using expletives nonstop, cursing life 24×7, it’s just too negative. I can’t report them, I don’t block ’em, but I do “mute” them these days.

    Although, because of all the bloggers I follow on Google+, and some great people I get to interact with, my Google+ experience overall is totally worth checking. Surprisingly, there are some witty teens too, – very surprisingly.

      Facebook – Due to how Facebook chooses relevant posts for it’s users, I only have “success” and “motivation” posts appearing on my timeline. That has made me about 10 minutes more active on Facebook everyday, up from 2-3 minutes at best. However, there’s a price I’ve had to pay – not interacting with many means – my posts aren’t something everyone looks forward to as well, especially that I unfriended about 250 people a while back to leave me with 60 friends – that doesn’t help.

        Instagram (rahulsingh_i) – I am new to Instagram, and have had very few people add me, and I don’t follow many too. So, it’s cool for now, and looks calm. Highly impressed with the activity on the medium as compared to other Social networks. Just wishing that  Instagram makes hashtags as relevant as Twitter, and People easier to follow – while being non-spammy.

          Others – I have accounts on Tumblr, Flipboard, Pinterest, Quora, and many more places that I am not too active with. I loved how Flipboard worked, no wonder they have got over 500 million app downloads from the Google PlayStore. Tumblr and Quora can be addictive, but I am logged out of both, and have no intentions of logging in anytime soon – other than the odd security checks of course. Pinterest, it’s the place you want to share your “creative” blog posts too – no wonder, it isn’t for me.

          Important – Look for every problem there’s a solution. Report all spam posts, block people, create private lists on Twitter, and add the people you want to interact with. Block, or if that’s too harsh, mute people on Google+, or the better solution is to keep important people in a separate circle. Message your Facebook friends once in a while. Explore new parts of the Social Media networks. What’s the point of ranting on your blog, man? Good day.

          7 thoughts on “My Messed Up Social Media Timelines! 

          1. Great stuff Rahul. I’ve taken to muting people on Twitter who post and repost the same garbage, but it seems to be a losing battle. Google+ is much better, in fact a couple of weeks back, one of my followers sent me a direct message telling me my namesake had died in South Africa, leaving behind a tidy sum of 4 million USD. You know the rest. Other than that one off, Google + has been a decent format to use. Great post!

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Very true indeed, it’s a cause to celebrate, when you can say “witty” and “teen” in the same sentence, hihii! My two cents though Rahul, never be afraid to block, unfriend, report, unfollow immediately persons who are posting crap which keeps popping on your timeline 🙂

            For twitter what works for me, as you already pointed out: blocking people posting garbage, but also don’t follow back everyone who follows you…follow only those whom you know…try it also on other social sites…for the sake of your sanity, hihii! You’ll see it works to de-congest your timeline of crap ^_^

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Thank you! I do that now, I have stopped following spam accounts, plus I un-followed or muted most negative accounts, plus got reading lists too. So, getting things together on Twitter now. Haven’t been active on G+ lately.

              We can’t forget we were once teenagers too. 😀

              Like

          Leave a Reply

          